Author Questionnaire — Meredith Miller

unnamed

We want you to meet Meredith Miller, author of the MeeGenius originals, “Oh Buoy!” and “Fresh Farm Pajamas”!

1. What is your name (and pen name, if applicable)?

Meredith Miller

2. What book(s) have you published with MeeGenius?

“Oh Buoy” and “Farm Fresh Pajamas”. Can’t say which MeeGenius books are my favorite. Wouldn’t be fair.

3. Where do you currently live? Please include city and state (or town and country if you’re non-US based).

Los Angeles, CA. What do I like best? The traffic. Kidding. The Hollywood Bowl.

4. Do you have any other occupations (excluding writing)?

Former life as a copywriter/producer for motion picture advertising. When I was a kid I wanted to fly. And be a writer.

5. Did you attend any secondary education institutions (college/university)? If so, where did you go? What was your major? Did you complete any post-secondary education (Masters, Ph.D. programs)?

I was an English major in College.

6. Do you have any children? Significant other? Pets? Dust bunnies that keep you company?

My daughter is a huge inspiration. My husband is a good support. For months, our daughter had been begging for a pet. One day, she sat staring at a vase of old flowers that should have been thrown out days earlier. She noticed some very small whitish things floating and swimming in the water. They were tiny but many. I googled and discovered they were mosquito larvae. “Oh, Gross!” I said. “Finally! Pets!” she said. Soon after we got our cat, Lizzy.

7. When did you first start writing stories?

I started writing when I was a kid.

8. Do you have any interesting writing habits? Love a specific type of tea to warm your creative juices, or do you listen to any particular bands/genres of music?

I get ideas often when I am driving. I write notes on receipts and scraps of pater but put it all together in my office, with the door open to our deck.

9. How do you overcome writer’s block?

Writers block? Writer’s block? I don’t overcome it. Sometimes I open and close documents over and over again. Sometimes I just write titles or first lines on a page and the story comes later. Taking a real break including change of scenery and putting a story away for a few months can do amazing things.

10. What inspired you to write your book? Did you learn anything from writing this book?

“Oh Buoy” was inspired by the seals that pile on the buoys in the Marina. “Farm Fresh Pajamas” was inspired by a Llama that grabbed my snack when I was a kid. I like how conversations evolve and I had a lot of fun playing with the words and getting more outrageous as the character’s “one up” each other. I learned that you really have to choose to end a story or stop editing because within every book, there are probably 100 more.

11. How are you similar or different from the main character in your book?

I hope I don’t resemble a harbor seal.

12. What is your favorite children’s book?

Favorite? There’s that question again… so many favorites. “Woolbur”, “Library Lion”, “Corduroy”.   

13. What is your favorite adult book?

Uh oh… favorites? “Don’t Let’s Go To The Dogs Tonight” by Alexandra Fuller, “Interpreter of Maladies” by Jhumpa Lahiri, many David Sedaris stories, and food/travel writing in general.

14. What are your hobbies?

I like to cook, hike (walk, really), travel, spend time with family and friends.

15. How do you like to spend your free time?

See #14

16. If you were forced to live in another country for the rest of your life, where would you move?  

I would like to take different parts of countries and create a super peaceful and amazing place. The best food, theatre, nature, attitude. Cop out answer? Maybe.

17. If you could spend an afternoon with any one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

My grandmother

18. If you had to spend a week inside a book, interacting with the characters and environment, what book would you pick?

A whole week? The Phantom Toll Booth with a bit of Little House of the Prairie thrown in for good measure.

19. Please provide three random facts about yourself. Feel free to make them as wacky and interesting as you prefer!

1. I’ve seen a Gazelle give birth in Kenya.
2. I hiked the Nepali Coast with a broken toe.
3. I am a vegetarian but cook a mean steak.

20. What was your favorite part of your story?

There’s that word again. 🙂

 

Editor’s Note: “Oh Buoy!” and “Farm Fresh Pajamas” are available now through our website and app!

%22Oh Buoy%22Oh Buoy!

by Meredith Miller

Seals just want a place to rest, but there isn’t enough space on the buoy!

 

 

 

 

 

bookFarm Fresh Pajamas

by Meredith Miller

A llama has eaten Cow’s pajamas! It turns out critters munching on clothing isn’t an uncommon problem when you live on a farm! Will the other animals help Cow get her pajamas back, or will she have to listen to all of their stories first?

 

3 thoughts on “Author Questionnaire — Meredith Miller

Leave a Reply

