My favorite Sesame Street book on MeeGenius: “Elmo ’n’ Daddy”

A few weeks ago I read an article in the New York Times–“Read, Kid, Read“–that hit spot-on on what we here at MeeGenius believe in: that reading is a gift that keeps on giving. “It’s not a chore. It’s a path to fulfillment that fewer are traveling.” This sentiment and experience are ones we teach our kids, it is on us to pass that message on to them.

Quite honestly, I don’t recall loving to read as a child. I was more of a math person. And to this day, I still wouldn’t consider myself an avid reader. Sure, I read a lot of news and magazines articles online, on my mobile devices, and even in print (there’s no connectivity in NYC subways), but very seldom am I reading a book. I want to change that with my 2 young sons so with them, I’m trying to read with them as much as I can. Our apartment is overflowing with print  children’s books and of course, I read with them using MeeGenius. It brings so much pleasure to me to see how much they have grown to enjoy reading and once in a while, even learn a thing or two.

These days, one of my favorite titles from our library of eBooks is one of our newest Sesame Street books, Elmo’n’Daddy. It focuses on that fun, worry-free time a little boy and his dad are having together. Also, as a lifelong sports fan, particularly baseball, one of the things I’ve been struggling with is how to impart my passion on to my sons without sitting them in front of the TV just watching games. In the book, Elmo and his dad are going to the ballpark to see Elmo’s first baseball game. After seeing how much fun they have together cheering, singing, and rooting for their favorite team, now my son wants me to take him to his first baseball game. That’s one request I will happily oblige to. To me, that’s what’s reading all about–the excitement of discovering new things!

 

bookSesame Street: Elmo ’n’ Daddy

by Michael P. Fertig

Elmo spends some quality time with his daddy at his first professional baseball game!

 

Leave a comment